The Government Finance Officer Association of the Washington Metropolitan Area (GFOA-WMA) has established an Awards Program that is comprised of several highly regarded professional recognition awards to encourage state and local governments in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area to improve the quality of their financial management and to be recognized for their achievement during the period from July 1st to June 30th of each year. Our Awards Program also recognizes GFOA-WMA members for their commitment to serving our community; extraordinary accomplishment in recruiting new members into our organization; and for their commitment to serving the membership of the organization throughout the year. Winning these awards is a high level professional acknowledgement within the public finance profession and will provide examples for others to follow.

The awards are made on an annual basis. Nominations may be made by any GFOA-WMA member (self-nomination is permitted) and the GFOA-WMA Board shall select the recipients. Nominations shall be submitted each year using applications that are available at the GFOA-WMA website by clicking the link below. 

Award recipients will be announced at the annual year-end conference held annually in November or December.

Awards Program Download

Awards Program Submission Form

What GFOA-WMA Will Provide to Award Recipients

In addition to receiving a very tasteful plaque or certificate, depending on the award, a press release will be issued by the GFOA-WMA that recognizes the award recipients as well as provides recognition on the GFOA-WMA website. Recipients of the following awards will also receive a $25 gift card: Award for Excellence in Government Finance (Individual Award Category) and the Community Service Award. The Award for Excellence in Government Finance (Group Award Category) shall receive a $100 gift card to be shared by the group winners. Additionally, the recipients of the Awards for Excellence in Government Finance will also receive a one year membership in GFOA-WMA; and the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award in Government Finance will receive an honorary "Lifetime" membership in the GFOA-WMA.

Awards Nomination Process and Timeline for FY 2018

The nomination process related to the Award for Excellence in Government Finance and Community Service Award will be as follows:



September 17th -October 12th

Nominations will be solicited from the general membership via website, quarterly meetings and via email correspondence.

October 14th - 19th

Nominations will be reviewed by the Awards Committee.

Week of October 22nd

Awards Committee will present tentative selections to full GFOA-WMA Board for approval.

October 26th

Notify award recipients and invite them to the annual conference to receive awards.

November 7th

Formal presentation of the awards at the annual conference.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software